Is Earth's ozone layer still at risk?
Smart windows could combine solar panels and TVs too
Distinguished Professor A.R. Ravishankara receives U.N. Scientific Leadership award
Ten Michael Smith Scholars in Chemistry start their journey at CSU

Welcome to the Department of Chemistry at Colorado State University. We have an international reputation for excellence in research across a broad array of disciplines, including analytical, biological, inorganic, organic, materials and physical chemistry. Ph.D. graduates receive world-class training, participate in cutting-edge (and often interdisciplinary) research projects, and are employed at all levels of academia and industry around the globe. The faculty also enjoy an award-winning reputation for teaching excellence. Undergraduate students benefit both from access to this classroom expertise and from a long tradition of substantive undergraduate participation in research. The Department’s research efforts are supported by a state-of-the-art Central Instrument Facility that provides 24/7 student access to shared instrumentation.


Chemistry undergrad receives NOAA Scholarship

Jarod Snook, a sophomore majoring in chemistry was awarded the Ernest F. Hollings Scholarship. The Hollings Scholarship includes a two-year academic scholarship and a summer internship opportunity with NOAA for full-time undergraduate STEM and education majors.

Assistant Professor Martin McCullagh Reveals New “Achilles heel” in Dengue Virus

By stretching the amount of time proteins can be simulated in their natural state of wiggling and gyrating, a team of researchers at Colorado State University, using XSEDE high-performance supercomputers, has identified a critical protein structure that could serve as a molecular Achilles heel able to inhibit the replication of dengue virus and potentially other flaviviruses such as West Nile and Zika virus.

Borch and Fisher honored at Celebrate! CSU

Each year, Colorado State University celebrates the teaching, research and service achievements of Colorado State University students, alumni and friends, academic faculty, administrative professionals and classified staff. This year, Thomas Borch and Ellen Fisher, two of our outstanding professors were honored for the work that they have done here at CSU.

CSU Chemistry Graduate Students Win Energy Institute Award

Chemistry graduate students Ryan Pearson and Matthew Ryan were selected as the winners of the 2018 CSU Demo Days Energy Institute Award for Graduate Student Poster of the Year! Their research, a paintable do-it-yourself heat-reflective retrofit coating for older energy inefficient windows, was showcased that day along with over sixty competing graduate students.


Upcoming Seminars


Contact Us

By Jennifer Bjerke
6/11/18 at 4:00 PM in Chemistry A101
By Andrew Bissette
6/22/18 at 4:00 PM in ChemistryA101
9/12/18 at in
Back to top of page