Debbie Crans named 2015 College of Natural Sciences Professor Laureate

Posted: April 20th, 2015

The College of Natural Sciences has named this year’s Professor Laureates – Dr. Debbie Crans, Department of Chemistry, and Dr. Jennifer Hoeting, Professor of Statistics.  

Professor Laureate is the highest academic title awarded by the College of Natural Sciences and is intended to honor faculty who have made outstanding contributions to its mission with work in the areas of research, teaching, mentoring and outreach. The title also recognizes the nominee’s career accomplishments and provides them an honorarium and two years of resources for student projects directed by them. During the academic year, each laureate must also deliver a college-wide address on an academic subject of his or her choice.

Awardees display to the rest of the college and university the role model of an excellent senior faculty member and establish a group that the dean’s office may go to for advice and counsel on ad-hoc issues. The title of professor laureate remains for three years, is not renewable, and the award is relinquished upon passing to retirement or transitional retirement.

Crans and Hoeting will be awarded at the Annual Teaching and Mentoring Awards Ceremony on Friday, April 24.  Debbie Crans will give her Laureate presentation at this time.

Friday, April 24, 2015 – 4:45pm

Cherokee Park Ballroom, LSC

CNS Teaching & Mentoring Awards Ceremony

and Laureate Lecture

Reception to follow in the University Club

RSVP to by April 22, 2015Crans