Faculty – Inorganic

Christopher Ackerson
Christopher Ackerson - Associate Professor
Ph.D., Stanford University
970-491-0521 / Chris.Ackerson@colostate.edu
Nanoparticle structure, nanoparticle chemistry, novel nanoparticle synthesis strategies, applications of nanoparticles to biological imaging.

Eugene Chen
Eugene Chen - Professor
Ph.D., University of Massachusetts
970-491-5609 / eugene.chen@colostate.edu
Polymer Chemistry, Sustainability, Renewable Energy, and Catalysis
Bioplastics from renewable feedstocks, biomass conversion into chemicals and fuels, metal-catalyzed stereospecific and asymmetric polymerizations, Lewis pair polymerization, organopolymerization catalysis, precision polymer synthesis, polymer photovoltaics

Debbie Crans
Debbie Crans - Professor
Ph.D., Harvard University
970-491-7635 / Debbie.Crans@colostate.edu
Bioinorganic, Bioorganic, Physical Organic Chemistries, with focuses on characterization of menaquinone metabolism and ihibition of electron transport in tuberculosis bacteria, vanadium containing anti-diabetic and anti-malarial compounds, microemulsion drug-membrane interaction studies, copper (II) amyloid-beta and peptide complexation studies, and spectroscopic techniques including 1D and 2D NMR, EPR, fluorescence and IR.

Richard Finke
Richard Finke - Professor
Ph.D., Stanford University
970-491-2541 / Richard.Finke@colostate.edu
Chemical catalysis, nanoparticle research, energy research and kinetics and mechanism

James Neilson
James Neilson - Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of California Santa Barbara
970-491-2958 / james.neilson@colostate.edu
Functional inorganic materials for energy and biomineralization
New materials and methodologies involving solid-state and solution-phase reactions, particularly those involving kinetic control. We study structure/property relationships of materials (e.g., magnetism, electrical transport) using advanced synchrotron X-ray and time-of-flight neutron scattering and spectroscopic methods.

Amy Prieto
Amy Prieto - Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
970-491-1592 / Amy.Prieto@colostate.edu
Electrochemical synthesis of inorganic bulk and nanoscale materials, low-temperature solid-state chemistry, nanomaterials.

Anthony Rappe
Anthony Rappe - Professor
Ph.D., California Institute of Technology
970-491-6292 / Anthony.Rappe@colostate.edu
Theoretical characterization of reaction mechanisms in homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysis, new electronic structure techniques, development of force fields or model potentials for chemical reactivity studies.

Matthew Shores
Matthew Shores - Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
970-491-7235 / Matthew.Shores@colostate.edu
(Magnetic) applications of coordination complexes
Coordination and organometallic complex synthesis and characterization: environmental control of spin-crossover properties; single-molecule magnets; solar photochemistry employing earth-abundant materials.

Steven Strauss
Steven Strauss - Professor
Ph.D., Northwestern University
970-491-5104 / steven.strauss@colostate.edu
Fundamental and applied aspects of synthetic inorganic, analytical and environmental chemistry; fluorinated superweak ions; selective fluorination and chlorination of fullerenes; pollution prevention; infrared sensors for environmental and industrial applications; redox-cyclable ion-exchange; layered materials; metal carbonyls

Emeritus Faculty Members

Oren Anderson
Oren Anderson - Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. Northwestern University
970-491-6339 / Oren.Anderson@colostate.edu
Structural chemistry of inorganic compounds, including Group IIA complexes, iron/copper bioinorganic model compounds, and metalloporphyrins; protein crystallography.