Garret Miyake wins the 2017 ACS Division of Polymer Chemistry Mark Young Scholar Award

Photo of Garret Miyake

Posted: September 19th, 2017

Garret Miyake receiving Mark Young Scholar Award

Garret Miyake, Assistant Professor Colorado State University and Marc Hillmyer, Professor at the University of Minnesota and Chair of the ACS Division of Polymer Chemistry.

The Mark Young Scholar Award is a prestigious recognition given to one scholar under 35 years old biannually. The honor comes with a special symposium, which was held in honor of Assistant Professor Miyake on August 20, 2017, at the 254th national ACS meeting in Washington, DC. Featured speakers invited to the symposium included: Tim Swager of MIT, Will Dichtel of Northwestern University, Doug Gin of University of Colorado, Boulder, Cyrille Boyer of UNSW of Australia, and Eugene Chen of Colorado State University.

Miyake joined the CSU Department of Chemistry this fall. His research focuses on the development of organocatalyzed atom-transfer radical polymerization and the scalable manufacturing of photonic crystal materials through block copolymer self-assembly. Assistant Professor Miyake earned his Ph.D. at CSU with Eugene Chen. He was a Camille and Henry Dreyfus Environmental Chemistry Postdoctoral Fellow at the California Institute of Technology with Robert H. Grubbs. To be considered for this award, applicants must have shown research accomplishments and contributions to the advancement of polymer science through teaching, basic or applied research, technical leadership and scientific writings.

To read more about Garret’s award and research, please visit SOURCE!

Congratulations Garret!!