Ravishankara, Reynolds and Crans Honored with Top Faculty Awards at Celebrate! Colorado State

Posted: April 20th, 2017

Continuing our commitment to excellence,  the Department of Chemistry had three faculty members that received awards at the annual Celebrate! Colorado State Awards. The honorees from the Department of Chemistry were among eight faculty members from the College of Natural Sciences who received awards at this year’s event.

Professor A.R. Ravishankara, of the Department of Chemistry and Department of Atmospheric Science in the College of Engineering, was named University Distinguished Professor. The highest academic recognition awarded by the University, the title of University Distinguished Professor is bestowed upon a very small number of full professors at any one time on the basis of outstanding scholarship and achievement. Professors receiving this title hold the distinction for the duration of their association with Colorado State University.

Associate Professor Melissa Reynolds was named Monfort Professor, a two-year title and monetary award. The Monfort Family Foundation established the Monfort Professors Program to help CSU recruit and retain talented faculty members. Monfort Professors describe the award as “powerful,” “invaluable,” and “transformative.” It transcends the limitations of other funders and allows CSU’s most innovative young faculty to propel their careers and greatly strengthen CSU in the process. 

Professor Debbie Crans won an individual Interdisciplinary Scholarship Award that recognizes either a faculty member or research team whose interdisciplinary scholarship has had a major impact nationally and/or internationally, or who have demonstrated their potential to do so.