The Stille Symposium has been postponed until a later date due to COVID-19 concerns.

The 2020 Stille Science Symposium

The 9th Stille Symposium will be held at Colorado State University. Four world-renowned scientists, Jeanne E. Pemberton (Univ of Arizona); Luis M. Campos (Columbia University); Nathan S. Lewis (Caltech) and Thomas F. Jaramillo (Stanford) will give lectures on the frontiers in energy science. The symposium will also feature a poster session and reception.

The lectures and poster session are free and open to the public. If you are planning to attend, please fill out the brief registration information below so we can get an accurate head count.

Questions or Comments?  Please contact us at

Jeanne E. Pemberton

University of Arizona

Pemberton has over thirty years of experience in Analytical and Surface and Interfacial Chemistry. She received her B.S. in Chemistry and Biology from the University of Delaware, and her Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. Jeanne is currently a Regents Professor in the Chemistry and Biochemistry Department at the University of Arizona.

A significant amount of Skogerboe’s work focused on trace analysis of heavy metals in environmental and biological samples.

Luis M. Campos

Columbia University

Luis M. Campos is an Associate Professor in the Department of Chemistry at Columbia University. He was born on this planet, just like you. Luis grew up in Guadalajara, Mexico, and moved at the age of eleven to Los Angeles, California. He received a B.Sc. in Chemistry from CSU Dominguez Hills in 2001, and a Ph.D. from the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry at UCLA in 2006 working under the supervision of M. A. Garcia-Garibay and K. N. Houk. At UCLA, he was awarded the NSF Predoctoral Fellowship, Paul & Daisy Soros Fellowship, and the Saul & Silvia Winstein Award for his graduate research in solid-state photochemistry. Switching to materials chemistry, he went to UCSB as a UC President’s Postdoctoral Fellow to work under the supervision of C. J. Hawker at the Materials Research Laboratory. At Columbia, his group’s research interests lie in physical macromolecular chemistry. To date, he has co-authored over 100 articles and 13 patents; and he has received various awards, including the PECASE, ACS Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award, ONR Young Investigator Award, NSF CAREER Award, 3M Non-Tenured Faculty Award, and the I-APS Young Faculty Award, among others. In addition to these research accolades, Luis has been recognized for his pedagogical contributions by the Cottrell Scholar Award, Columbia University Presidential Teaching Award, and the Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award.

Nathan S. Lewis

California Institute of Technology

Prof. Nathan S. Lewis has been active in the solar fuels/solar chemical field for over 40 years, and has published over 500 papers, presented hundreds of public and technical plenary and invited lectures in the area, and is responsible for training a preeminent cohort of globally leading researchers in the solar fuels field.

Prof. Lewis graduated from the California Institute of Technology with a B.S. and M.S. in Chemistry in 1977 working with Prof. Harry B. Gray.  In 1981, he obtained a Ph.D. in Inorganic Chemistry from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology after working under the supervision of Prof. Mark S. Wrighton in 1981. Prof. Lewis then began as an Assistant Professor at Stanford University and was promoted to the rank of Associate Professor in 1986. In 1988, Prof. Lewis returned to Caltech where he is currently the George L. Argyros Professor of Chemistry.

Lewis is Editor-in-Chief of the leading journal in sustainable energy R&D, Energy and Environmental Science, published by the Royal Society of Chemistry, and is a distinguished advisor to industry, government, academia, and national and international media the role of R&D in clean energy innovation. Prof. Lewis is also the sponsor and host for the Chen-Huang Sustainable Energy Seminar series, which brings distinguished speakers on clean energy to the Caltech campus to enrich the discourse and enhance the profile of clean energy R&D worldwide.

Prof. Lewis is a holder of the Princeton Environmental Award, the American Chemical Society Award in Pure Chemistry, and was #17 overall, and the highest ranked scientist/technologist, in the Rolling Stone magazine’s top 100 “Agents of Change in America”.

Thomas F. Jaramillo

Stanford University

Recent years have seen unprecedented motivation for the emergence of new energy technologies. Global dependence on fossil fuels, however, will persist until alternate technologies can compete economically. We must develop means to produce energy (or energy carriers) from renewable sources and then convert them to work as efficiently and cleanly as possible. Catalysis is energy conversion, and the Jaramillo laboratory focuses on fundamental catalytic processes occurring on solid-state surfaces in both the production and consumption of energy. Chemical-to-electrical and electrical-to-chemical energy conversion are at the core of the research. Nanoparticles, metals, alloys, sulfides, nitrides, carbides, phosphides, oxides, and biomimetic organo-metallic complexes comprise the toolkit of materials that can help change the energy landscape. Tailoring catalyst surfaces to fit the chemistry is our primary challenge.