Scholarships provide much needed support for undergraduate students majoring in Chemistry, and are used to recruit talented new students.

Alex Kramer Scholarship: This fund was established by Andrew Kramer and Katherine Hunt in memory of their son, Alex. The purpose of this fund is to provide scholarships for undergraduate students enrolled in the Department of Chemistry within the College of Natural Sciences at Colorado State University.

Alice Nyitray Scholarship: This gift from Alice Nyitray will provide scholarships to benefit first generation students enrolled in the Chemistry Department within the College of Natural Sciences at Colorado State University.

Chemistry Undergraduate Scholarship: Established to encourage contributions from alumni and friends in support of chemistry undergraduate students.

Clifford C. Hach Memorial Scholarship: Established by Kathryn Hach-Darrow in memory of her husband, Clifford C. Hach, founder of the Hach Company. This scholarship provides financial support for exceptional undergraduates in the field of chemistry.

Cornell Stanhope Scholarship Fund: This scholarship, awarded to a first-year incoming chemistry major, is representative of Professor Stanhope’s lifelong dedication to chemistry.

Denise Rutherford and Maurice Kuypers Undergraduate Scholarship in ChemistryThis scholarship was established by Denise R. Rutherford a CSU graduate (Ph.D. Chemistry, 1989) and a first-generation college student (B.S. & M.S. Chemistry, Murray State University). Her university education and experiences at CSU provided a strong education and a foundation for life-long learning. This scholarship is for first generation college students pursuing their undergraduate education. Denise is currently President, 3M Greater China Area. Maurice H. Kuypers is a graduate of Vanderbilt University (MBA 1985) and Georgia Institute of Technology (B. Mech. Engineering, 1982). He is also an employee of 3M where he is currently a business development manager in 3M’s health care business for the Greater China Area. The purpose of the Fund is to provide scholarships to benefit students enrolled in CSU’s Department of Chemistry.

Dr. Harry Puleston Memorial Scholarship: Dr. Rodney Otzenberger’s contributions to this scholarship fund are made in recognition of the pivotal role that Dr. Puleston played in his decision to select chemistry as a major and ultimately pursue a doctoral degree. It is also in memory of his parents, Kenneth M. and Florence L. Otzenberger.

Dr. Jennifer Dawn Alexander Scholarship: Created by Bruce and Carolyn Edlund as a remembrance of Jennifer’s research impact as well as her bright and affable personality. This scholarship will provide support to students majoring in chemistry who have made a significant impact upon or who hold exceptional promise in the field of chemistry.

George Splittgerber Scholarship in Chemistry: This scholarship was established by alumnus Dr. Glenn Boutilier (B.S. 1974) and his wife Donna to honor longtime CSU chemistry professor, Dr. George Splittgerber.

G. H. Whiteford Scholarship: A privately funded scholarship awarded to a junior or senior chemistry student who is planning on a teaching career.

The Mark P. Sweet Chemistry Scholarship: This scholarship was created in memory of alumnus Mark Sweet (Ph.D. 1989) by his family. This fund benefits students majoring in organic chemistry within the chemistry department in the College of Natural Sciences at Colorado State University.

Marshall Fixman Fellowship: Established in honor of Marshall Fixman, University Distinguished Professor and professor emeritus in the Department of Chemistry at Colorado State University. The purpose of the fund is to provide stipends to undergraduate students participating in the Theoretical Chemistry Summer Research Program.

Nancy E. Levinger Undergraduate Research Fellowship: Alumnus Kyle Kung (B.S. 1996) established this fellowship in honor of his professor and mentor, Dr. Nancy E. Levinger.

Professor Leslie DiVerdi Scholarship: Established in honor of Dr. Leslie DiVerdi, a professor of Chemistry at Colorado State University from 1989 to 2009. The purpose of the fund is to provide scholarships to benefit undergraduate students majoring in Chemistry.

Reuben G. Gustavson Memorial Award: Established to honor Dr. Reuben G. Gustavson for his abilities as a teacher and his involvement and genuine concern for his students.

Rodney K. Skogerboe Scholarship in Chemistry Endowment: This scholarship was created by Dr. Glenn Boutilier and his wife, Donna, to honor Dr. Skogerboe’s career at Colorado State University and the important impact he had on the lives of his students. The purpose of the fund is to provide scholarships for graduate students pursuing a degree in chemistry with a concentration in analytical chemistry within the College of Natural Sciences at Colorado State University.

Ross E. Morgan, M.D. Scholarship in ChemistryDr. Morgan attended CSU from 1968 to 1974, receiving two Bachelor of Science degrees, both with highest distinction. The first was from the Department of Psychology in 1972, and the second was from the Department of Chemistry. Thereafter, from 1974 to 1978, he attended Washington University School of Medicine in Saint Louis, Missouri. He spent the majority of his career practicing Hematology/Oncology in Salt Lake City, Utah. The purpose of the fund is to provide scholarships for students within CSU’s Department of Chemistry with an interest in organic chemistry.

Steven Glade Scholarship in Chemistry: In honor of Steven Glade, this scholarship is to benefit students who demonstrate citizenship and a love for chemistry.

William F. and Linda L. Butin Scholarship in ChemistryBill graduated from Colorado State University in 1964 with a degree in Chemistry. Upon graduation he joined the Shell Oil Company and remained at Shell Oil in various executive positions until his retirement in 2000. He began as a research chemist in the Agricultural Chemicals Division but soon moved into management positions in Denver, New York, Houston, Chicago, London and finally Japan, where he was President and CEO of Shell Japan and the Royal Dutch Shell Group’s Representative for Japan. During his career, he held management and executive positions in Chemicals Manufacturing and Marketing, Refining and Marketing, and in Public and Governmental Affairs. More recently he has been a consultant and leadership coach for Mitsubishi Plastics. Throughout his career, Bill and his wife Linda have remained loyal friends and donors to the College of Natural Sciences and to CSU.

Thimmig Mollender: Linda T. Mollendor was born April 14, 1942 in Denver, Colorado. She developed an interest in chemistry by working for a pharmacist during high school. After graduation, Linda attended CSU and graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry and Education. While at CSU, she joined the Kappa Alpha Theta sorority. Linda was selected to join the Spurs National Honor Society at CSU and Mortar Board. In 1963, she married her high school sweetheart, Robert Mollendor, who was also a student at CSU. Linda served on the school board, was a longstanding officer and taught in whatever way she could. Education was always very important to her. In 1989, Linda was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis, but she never let it slow her down. Linda was a very kind, fair and giving individual. Linda passed away on Dec. 12, 2013 at 71 years of age.