Jeffrey S. Johnson, Ph.D.
Speaker's Institution
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chemistry A101
Mixer Time
Mixer Time
Chemistry B101E
Calendar (ICS) Event
Additional Information

About the Seminar:

The productive merger of enantioselective catalysis and crystallization-induced stereoconvergent processes demonstrates the potential of using physical properties to reveal unique reactivity.  Case studies in stereoselective synthesis of crystalline polyfunctional building blocks will be presented.

About the Speaker: 

A. Ronald Gallant Distinguished Professor
Jeffrey Johnson was born in Emporia, KS and earned his B.S. at the University of Kansas in 1994, graduating with Highest Distinction and Honors in Chemistry. He performed graduate research as an NSF Graduate Fellow in the laboratories of Professor David Evans at Harvard University from 1994-1999. After receiving his Ph.D. in 1999, he was an NIH Postdoctoral Fellow in the laboratories of Professor Robert Bergman at the University of California at Berkeley. In 2001, he joined the faculty at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill where, since 2014, he is the A. Ronald Gallant Distinguished Professor. From January 1, 2016 to June 30, 2020, he was the Department Chairperson.
Recognitions include the Florida Award (2021), AAAS Fellow (2019), the Journal of Organic Chemistry Author of the Year (2016), William C. Friday/Class of 1986 Award for Excellence in Teaching (2016), the Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry of Japan Lectureship Award (2014), the American Chemical Society’s Elias J. Corey Award for Outstanding Original Contribution in Organic Synthesis (2012), an ACS Arthur C. Cope Scholar award (2010), the Novartis Early Career Award in Organic Chemistry (2008), UNC’s Ruth and Phillip Hettleman Prize for Artistic and Scholarly Achievement (2006), a Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award (2006), an Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship (2006), a GSK Scholar Award (2006), and the Amgen Young Investigator Award (2005). Jeff was a standing member of the National Institutes of Health Synthetic and Biological Chemistry Study Section from 2013-2018, serving as chairperson from 2016-2018.